Posted in | News | Events

Pittcon Announces Spectroscopy and Analytical Chemistry Award Recipients

The Pittcon 2015 Program Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of 14 prestigious awards honoring scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy. Each award will be presented during a symposium at Pittcon 2015, March 8-12, 2015, New Orleans, Louisiana.

Presentations will include topics in applications such as bioanalytical, nanotechnology, genomics/proteomics, fuels/energy, materials, polymers/plastics, pharmaceutical, biomedical and neurochemistry. Methodologies include near infrared spectroscopy, molecular and vibrational spectroscopy; mass spectrometry; capillary electrophoresis; electrochemistry; liquid chromatography; sensors, magnetic resonance and chemical methods.

There will be two new awards this year, the Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award and the Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, both of which are sponsored by LCGC. The LCGC Lifetime Achievement Award honors a seasoned professional for a lifetime of contributions to the advancement of chromatographic techniques and applications. The LCGC Emerging Leader Award recognizes the achievements and aspirations of a talented young separation scientist who has made significant practical contributions to the field of separation science. The LCGC Awards were created in 2008, and for the first time in 2015, the recipients will be honored at Pittcon.

LCGC publisher Mike Tessalone commented:

“The LCGC Awards were created to honor those who developed the field of chromatography into what it is today, and to recognize the leaders of the next generation of scientists who represent the future.

“Our mission at LCGC is to educate our readers, and what better way to do that than to provide real-life examples of people that paved the way for new technologies and methods, while also highlighting current research that is breaking new ground."

Awards and recipients are as follows:

  • Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award, Alfred G. Redfield, Brandeis University
  • Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, Andrew G. Ewing, Chalmers and Gothenburg Universities
  • Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, Ryan C. Bailey, University of Illinois
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science, Dwight R. Stoll, Gustavus Adolphus College
  • Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award, Mark R. Schure, Kroungold
  • SEAC Charles N. Reilley Award, Hubert Girault, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • SEAC Royce W. Murray Award, Thomas Hamann, Michigan State University
  • Ralph N. Adams Award, John R. Yates, The Scripps Research Institute
  • The Coblentz Society Williams Wright Award, David Jonas, University of Colorado
  • Pittcon Heritage Award, A. Blaine Bowman, Illumina
  • The LCGC Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award, Joseph Jack Kirkland, Advanced Materials Technology, Inc.
  • The LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, Caroline West, University of Orleans

See complete details and biographies at

About Pittcon

Pittcon® is a registered trademark of The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy, a Pennsylvania non-profit organization. Co-sponsored by the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh and the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh, Pittcon is the premier annual conference and exposition on laboratory science. Proceeds from Pittcon fund science education and outreach at all levels, kindergarten through adult. Pittcon donates more than a million dollars a year to provide financial and administrative support for various science outreach activities including science equipment grants, research grants, scholarships and internships for students, awards to teachers and professors, and grants to public science centers, libraries and museums. Visit for more information.


Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    Pittcon. (2019, March 18). Pittcon Announces Spectroscopy and Analytical Chemistry Award Recipients. AZoM. Retrieved on May 30, 2023 from

  • MLA

    Pittcon. "Pittcon Announces Spectroscopy and Analytical Chemistry Award Recipients". AZoM. 30 May 2023. <>.

  • Chicago

    Pittcon. "Pittcon Announces Spectroscopy and Analytical Chemistry Award Recipients". AZoM. (accessed May 30, 2023).

  • Harvard

    Pittcon. 2019. Pittcon Announces Spectroscopy and Analytical Chemistry Award Recipients. AZoM, viewed 30 May 2023,

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type