ASM International Announced 2007 Class of Fellows

To provide recognition for their distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering, ASM International - The Materials Information Society has announced its 2007 Class of Fellows.

Mr. Richard A. Blackwell
General Manager, Buehler Canada, Markham, Ontario, Canada

For sustained technical contributions to the business and science of metallography and for tireless and dedicated contributions to ASM International.

Dr. Philip E. Bretz
Executive Vice President, Metcut Research Inc., Cincinnati, OH

For outstanding and sustained contributions to understanding the mechanical behavior of lightweight structural materials.

Dr. Eldon D. Case
Professor, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

For outstanding contributions to microcracking and fatigue behavior of structural and bioceramics.

Dr. Leo Christodoulou
Program Manager, DARPA DSO. Arlington, VA

For outstanding contributions to initiation, support and advocacy of structural and multifunctional materials programs at the national level.

Prof. David C. Dunand
Professor, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

For significant contributions to understanding the mechanical properties of dispersion-strengthened alloys, metal matrix composites and metallic foams.

Ms. Diana M. Essock
Director of New Technology, Foseco Metallurgical Incorporated, Cleveland, OH

For innovative contributions to the turbine, lighting and foundry industries and the ability to advance new products and processes from conception production and commercialization.

Prof. William H. Hofmeister
Director Center for Laser Applications, University of Tennessee Space Institute, Tullahoma, TN

For contributions to the control, characterization and understanding of direct metals deposition processes, and material processing in a microgravity environment.

Mr. Ravijit Kahandal
Senior Manager, The Boeing Company, Huntington Beach, CA

For outstanding contribution to the application and use of advanced materials and processes for aerospace applications leading to improved performance and cost benefits.

Dr. Jeganathan Karthikeyan
Dir of Research & Development, ASB Industries, Barberton, OH

For significant technical contribution to thermal spray technology ranging from superconducting coatings, to thermal barriers and nanomaterials.

Dr. Hugh Kerr
Professor Emeritus, Waterloo University, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

For outstanding contributions to the solidification of alloys in welding and soldering, to joining process development, and broad contributions to education in the fundamental and applied aspects of joining.

Prof. Nack J. Kim
Professor, Pohang University of Science & Technology, Pohang, South Korea

For contributions in advancing the processing and development of lightweight alloys.

Prof. Ashok Kumar
Professor, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL

For outstanding contributions to the fields of chemical mechanical polishing and surface engineering.

Mr. Stephen E. LeBeau
President and Chief Executive Officer, ThixoMat, Ann Arbor, MI

For leadership in adaptation, transfer and commercialization of innovative magnesium injection molding technology.

Dr. Victor D. Levin
Director, Global Materials Engineering, TRW Automotive Engine Components,
Cleveland, OH

For significant contributions to the materials technology used in manufacturing of internal combustion engine valves.

Prof. Zi-Kui Liu
Professor, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA

Contributions to computational modeling of materials and, in particular, to computational thermodynamics and its transitioning to physics based modeling, which enables the robust production of stable engineering materials.

Dr. Dana J. Medlin
Associate Professor, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, SD

For outstanding contributions to innovative design and development of medical devices, dedication to the development and education of future medical device professionals, and prolonged outstanding service to ASM.

Dr. Richard A. Neiser
Principal Member of Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM

For pioneering contributions in innovative process diagnostics and modeling, to enhance fundamental understanding and improve control technology for thermal spray processes, and for exceptional leadership in thermal spray safety education.

Mr. Charles E. Neu
President, Forensic Sciences Incorporated, Hatboro, PA

For developing application criteria for aerospace steels, titanium, and aluminum alloys used in Navy aircraft.

Mr. Henry R. Piehler
Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

For outstanding and sustained contributions in understanding deformation processes and the performance of biomaterials and medical devices.

Dr. Michael A. Rigdon
Director of Science & Technology Division, Institute for Defense Analyses,
Alexandria, VA

In recognition of his exceptional vision and leadership in analysis and enabling use of innovative high performance materials in Department of Defense systems and outstanding service to ASM.

Prof. Kamel Salama
University of Houston, Houston, TX

For his contributions to research and education in the area of processing and mechanical behavior of High Temperature Superconductivity.

Dr. John Scully
Professor, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA

In recognition of contributions to the understanding of hydrogen interactions and corrosion in metals.

Dr. Roger Stoller
Distinguished Research Staff, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Knoxville, TN

For significant contribution to the fundamental understanding of radiation-induced microstructural evolution in structural materials.

Mr. Dilip Subramanyam
Engineering Manager, Becton Dickinson & Co Ophthalmic Systems Division, Waltham, MA

For contributions in the development and commercialization of cast, wear-resistant alloys and for process improvement and innovation in the advancement of metal fabrication technologies related to the manufacture of
medical devices.

Mr. Fred C. Yolton
Technical Director, Crucible Research Division, Pittsburgh, PA

For pioneering the development and production of advanced high performance powder metallurgy of titanium and titanium alloys, including the invention of titanium atomizer.

"The honor of Fellow means so much to us because it is conferred by our colleagues," said ASM President Dr. Dianne Chong, FASM, The Boeing Company. "The combined knowledge and experience of ASM's Fellows will help our society to serve the materials science and engineering community in the years ahead."


Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    ASM International. (2019, February 10). ASM International Announced 2007 Class of Fellows. AZoM. Retrieved on January 28, 2022 from

  • MLA

    ASM International. "ASM International Announced 2007 Class of Fellows". AZoM. 28 January 2022. <>.

  • Chicago

    ASM International. "ASM International Announced 2007 Class of Fellows". AZoM. (accessed January 28, 2022).

  • Harvard

    ASM International. 2019. ASM International Announced 2007 Class of Fellows. AZoM, viewed 28 January 2022,

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback